News Flash

CVWD Hot Topics

Posted on: December 15, 2016

Local Water Board Members to Serve on Regional and State Boards

The Cucamonga Valley Water District (CVWD) is pleased to announce the recent appointments of two directors to influential regional and state boards. Director Kathleen J. Tiegs was selected as the Vice Chair of the Southern California Water Committee (SCWC). SCWC is a nonprofit public education partnership dedicated to informing Southern Californians about water needs and the state's water resources. Through measured advocacy, SCWC workDir. Tiegs, President Curatalos to ensure the health and reliability of Southern California's water supply.

“I am honored to be a part of this integral, regional organization, while also representing the needs of CVWD and our local community,” commented Director Tiegs “I look forward to working with SCWC’s 200 members to continue moving forward the dialogue on the most critical water issues.”

Director Tiegs was elected to the CVWD Board of Directors in 2005 and currently serves on the Human Resources/Risk Management and Legislative & Outreach Committees. She currently serves as the President of the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA). In addition, she serves on ACWA’s Groundwater Committee, the ACWA Joint Powers Insurance Authority (JPIA) Board and the ACWA/JPIA Executive Committee.

The second appointment of a CVWD board members is that of President James V. Curatalo Jr. as the Chair of the California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO). CALAFCO was founded in 1971 and is dedicated to assisting member Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) with educational and technical resources. CALAFCO provides state wide coordination of LAFCO activities, serves as a resource to the Legislature and other bodies, and offers a structure for sharing information among the various LAFCOs and other governmental agencies.

President Curatalo was elected to the CVWD Board of Directors in November 1999 and currently serves on the Human Resources/Risk Management and Water Resources Committees. President Curatalo is the regular special district member for the County of San Bernardino LAFCO and Chairman of the Commission.

“I look forward to collaborating and guiding LAFCOs in my new role as the Chair of CALAFCO,” commented President Curatalo, “Together with other municipalities, we will work cooperatively to address growth, preservation, and service delivery for the agencies and populations we serve.”

For more information about CVWD, please visit or call (909) 987-2591. For information about the SCWC visit; for information about CALAFCO visit

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in CVWD Hot Topics

Proposed Rate Change Postponed

Proposed Rate Change Postponed

Posted on: June 12, 2020
CVWD Services Remain Available

CVWD Services Remain Available

Posted on: March 25, 2020
CVWD Update

CVWD Update 03-16-20

Posted on: March 16, 2020
CVWD Continues to Provide Safe Water

CVWD Continues to Provide Safe Water

Posted on: March 13, 2020
CA Water Efficient Laws

California Water Efficiency Laws

Posted on: January 3, 2020
CVWD Responds

CVWD Responds to Data Breach

Posted on: December 4, 2019

Emergency Planning a CVWD Priority

Posted on: November 8, 2018
2017 Cool Planet Recipients.jpg

Energy Efficiency Efforts Recognized

Posted on: November 2, 2017